interior banner image

Previous Winners

Lambda Literary Awards Finalists & Winners

For over 30 years, the Lambda Literary Awards have recognized the best LGBTQ books published in a given year across dozens of categories.

Below is a directory of all previous Lammy finalists and winners dating back to 1988. You can search by a title or author, and filter by the drop-down fields.

Note that each year’s Lambda Literary Awards celebrates books published between January 1 and December 31 of the previous year. For example, books from the 2020 Lammys will show a publication year of 2019 in this table.

You are filtering by 1990

Publication Year
Book Title
Author Name
Award Status
Lynda Lyons
Karen Marie Christa Minns
Louise Rafkin (editor)
Making Face/Making Soul
Gloria Anzaldua
Black Women’s Health Book
Evelyn C. White
BevJo, Linda Strega & Ruston
Loony-Bin Trip
Kate Millett
Staying Power
Susan Johnson
Susie Bright
Going Back to the River
Marilyn Hacker
Chant of the Women of Magdalena
SDiane Bogus
Minnie Bruce Pratt
A Few Words in the Mother Tongue
Irena Klepfisz
Patience of Metal
Yvonne Zipter
Gossamer Axe
Gael Baudino
Doc and Fluff
Pat Califia
Mighty Good Road
Melissa Scott
A Captive In Time
Sarah Dreher
Claire McNab
Karla Jay & Joanne Glasgow (editors)
Camarin Grae
Speaking Four Ourselves
Irene Zahava (editor)
The Safe Sea of Women
Bonnie Zimmerman
Cherry Muhanji
Ceremonies of the Heart
Becky Butler
Vickie Sears
Marcia Freedman
Take Me to the Underground
Renee Hansen
Karen Marie Christa Minns
Voyages Out 2
Julie Blackwomon & Nona Caspers
Out of Time
Paula Martinac
Don Juan In the Village
Jane DeLynn
Incidents Involving Mirth
Anna Livia
Melanie Kay/Kantrowitz
People In Trouble
Sarah Schulman
Gaudi Afternoon
Barbara Wilson
Ninth Life
Lauren Wright Douglas
Mercedes Lackey
Lesbian Bedtime Stores 2
Terry Woodrow (editor)
Toby Johnson
Jeffner Allen (editor)
Alternate Casts
Marsh Cassady
Storm Constantine
The Gift
Scott Edelman
Daddy’s Roommate
Michael Willhoite
Gays In Uniform
Kate Dyer
Hard Plays/Stiff Parts
Robert Chesley
Jack Fritscher
Stuart Timmons
Alison Bechdel

Subscribe to our newsletter