interior banner image

29th Annual Lambda Literary Award Winners Announced

29th Annual Lambda Literary Award Winners Announced

Author: Edit Team

June 13, 2017

29th Annual Lambda Literary Award Winners Announced


On Monday, June 12, Lambda Literary, the nation’s leading organization advancing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) literature, announced the winners of the 29th Annual Lambda Literary Awards (the “Lammys”) at a ceremony hosted by multi-genre artist Justin Vivian Bond at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts in New York City. The ceremony brought together attendees, sponsors, and celebrities to celebrate excellence in LGBT literature and twenty-nine years of the groundbreaking literary awards.

“Authors putting words in order artfully and with thought is a revolutionary thing in the climate we are living in,” Bond opened the ceremony. “I want to congratulate everyone who’s nominated tonight. We’re here to celebrate you for the gift you have given us with your artistry.”

One of the Middle East’s most celebrated voices, Rabih Alameddine won in the Gay Fiction category for his novel The Angel of History (Grove Press). Set over the course of a night, Alameddine’s book follows a Yemeni-born poet as he revisits the events of his life, from his upbringing to his life as a gay Arab man in San Francisco at the height of the AIDS epidemic. In Lesbian Fiction, Nicole Dennis-Benn won for her debut Here Comes the Sun (Liveright), a novel with a cast of unforgettable Jamaican women who battle for independence while a maelstrom of change threatens their village.

Jacqueline Woodson and Jeanette Winterson were also honored for their lifetime achievements. Tony Award-winning actress Cynthia Nixon introduced Woodson, a “writer who is part of the institution but stands outside it and critiques,” said Nixon. “She is the writer, the friend, the citizen these times demand.” Accepting the Visionary Award, Woodson noted, “The work we do as a queer community for the generations beyond us make me proud to be standing here and accept this award.”

Later, Baileys Women’s Prize-winning author A.M. Homes introduced Jeanette Winterson, who won the Trustee Award. “A lifetime achievement award is more than overdue for Jeanette,” said Homes. During her acceptance speech, Winterson praised the powers of writers and imagination. “Everything that happens starts with an idea,” said Winterson. “We should protect and expand the imagination: to imagine the world as different than it is.”

Other winners of the night included David France for How to Survive a Plague: The Inside Story of How Citizens and Science Tamed AIDS (Knopf), a companion book to his award-winning documentary film, in LGBT Nonfiction. Activist Cleve Jones’s When We Rise: My Life in the Movement (Hachette Books) in Gay Memoir/Biography. “I wrote this book because the LGBT movement saved my life,” said Cleve as he accepted his award, “And I’m ready to keep fighting.”

“In a year of great political turmoil, the Lammys were a reminder that our LGBTQ writing community remains at the forefront of resistance to attacks on our communities,” said Tony Valenzuela, Lambda Literary Executive Director. “Congratulations to all the winners and honorees. You inspire us.”

As always, the Lammys brought out the stars from the worlds of film, television, theatre, journalism, and literature. Presenters this year included Yale Series of Younger Poets judge Carl Phillips, Tony Award-winning producer Vivek Toward, comedian Tig Notaro, Emmy Award-winning actress Cynthia Nixon, and New York Times columnists Frank Bruni and Masha Gessen.


. 29th Annual Lambda Literary Award Winners Lesbian Fiction

Gay Fiction

Bisexual Fiction  

Bisexual Nonfiction 

Bisexual Poetry 

Transgender Fiction

LGBT Nonfiction

Transgender Nonfiction

Lesbian Poetry (TIE)

Gay Poetry

Transgender Poetry

Lesbian Mystery

  • Pathogen, Jessica L. Webb, Bold Strokes Books

Gay Mystery

Lesbian Memoir/Biography

Gay Memoir/Biography

Lesbian Romance

Gay Romance

LGBT Erotica

LGBT Anthology

LGBT Children’s/Young Adult

LGBT Drama

LGBT Graphic Novels

LGBT SF/F/Horror

LGBT Studies


More photos will be uploaded throughout the week (Photographers: Brian Sargent & Tamika Hernandez)   



Champion Underwriters
 The Charlotte Sheedy Literary Agency · John Faubion & Warren Thomas   
John Rochester & Lawrence Fodor · KG MacGregor
· Kay Percy 
Partner Underwriters
Darla Baker · David Groff & Clay Williams · Eddie Sarfaty & Court Stroud 
S. Chris Shirley · Cheryl Traverse · Robert Ferrante & Tony Valenzuela

Lambda Literary Board of Trustees
KG MacGregor, President · Amy Scholder, Vice-President 
John Rochester, Treasurer · Denise Penn, Secretary
 Darla Baker · Tamika Butler · Steve Coulter · Peter Gadol · Lisa Girolami
David Groff 
· Mischa Haider · Rakesh Satyal · Salem West · Jan Zivic · Caroline Young 
2017 New York City Host Committee 
David Groff · Rakesh Satyal · Amy Scholder, Co-Chairs 
Angelo Nikolopoulos · Ann Aptaker · Anna deVries · Antonio Gonzalez · Ben Hyman
Brian Alessandro · Cathy Renna · Chris Shirley · Christian Trimmer · Damon Suede 
David Gale · David Shane · Diana Cage · Elizabeth Koke · Frederick McKindra · Jamie Brickhouse

Jason Wells · Jeremy Sorese · Karen Schechner · Ken Geist · Lori Perkins · Martin Wilson
Michael Carroll · Michele Karlsberg · Parrish Turner · Paul Florez · Paul Whitlatch · Rocco Staino 

Serkan Gorkemli · Stephen Morrison · Zack Phillips


Subscribe to our newsletter