interior banner image

28th Annual Lammy Award Winners Announced

28th Annual Lammy Award Winners Announced

Author: Edit Team

June 7, 2016

The winners of the 28th Annual Lambda Literary Awards (the “Lammys”) were announced last night in a gala ceremony hosted by comedienne Kate Clinton at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. The Lambda ceremony brought together over 500 attendees, sponsors, and celebrities to celebrate excellence in LGBT literature and 28 years of the groundbreaking literary awards. The celebration continued at Le Poisson Rouge at the Official After-Party with celebrity DJs Sammy Jo and Tikka Masala, VJ Bleue Liverpool and an electrifying performance by Macy Rodman.

As master of ceremonies, Clinton once again took the stage, saying, “Welcome to the Skirball Center, our new home!” as she began her fifth consecutive year as host. “Thank you careful and constant readers,” she said. “It’s like Words With Friends in real life,” and continued, “Reading takes me away.”

Broadway star and Style Rookie editor Tavi Gevinson said, “This is an amazing event,” as she introduced Hilton Als, New Yorker writer and author of the award winning, White Girls, who received the Trustee Award for Excellence in Literature. She continued, “Thank you for everything you’ve gotten us readers to think about and feel through your writing. I am in awe of you.” Hilton, in his acceptance, said, “Powerful feelings rise up in me as I stand before you. Other people are my art.”

Native poet Natalie Diaz introduced the celebrated poet Eileen Myles, who received Lambda’s Pioneer Award. “It amazes me that it has taken this long for the country and arts to recognize what I have known all along. That Eileen is amazing. She made a space for us.” Eileen, in accepting, said “I go forward with confidence.”

In the gay poetry category, the winners were Crevasse by Nicholas Wong and Reconnaissance by Carl Phillips. “I would encourage you to start reading Asian poets,” said Wong.

“Throughout tonight’s ceremony we were reminded of the impact that LGBT literature has on people’s lives,” said Tony Valenzuela, Lambda Literary Executive Director.  “Congratulations to all the winners and honorees.”

Clinton summed up the event saying, “Never have the Lambda Literary Awards ever sounded so much like the People’s Choice Awards.”

As always, the stage sparkled with a glittering roster of presenters from the worlds of film, television, theatre, politics, music, and, of course, literature. Just some of the presenters who graced the stage were: Richard Blanco, Kate Bornstein, Natalie Diaz, Tim Federle, Tavi Gevinson, Silas Howard, Paul Rudnick, Ira Sachs, Rakesh Satyal and Pamela Sneed.


28th Annual Lambda Literary Award Winners


Lesbian Fiction

Gay Fiction

Bisexual Fiction  

Bisexual Nonfiction

Transgender Fiction

LGBT Debut Fiction

LGBT Nonfiction

Transgender Nonfiction

Lesbian Poetry

Gay Poetry (TIE)

Transgender Poetry

Lesbian Mystery (TIE)

Gay Mystery

Lesbian Memoir/Biography

Gay Memoir/Biography

Lesbian Romance

Gay Romance

Lesbian Erotica

  • The Muse, Meghan O’Brien, Bold Strokes Books

Gay Erotica

LGBT Anthology – Fiction

LGBT Anthology – Nonfiction

LGBT Children’s/Young Adult

  • George, Alex Gino, Scholastic Press

LGBT Drama

LGBT Graphic Novels

LGBT SF/F/Horror

LGBT Studies





More photos will be uploaded throughout the week 

(Photographer: Brian Sargent) 

2016 Sponsors:

Benefactor Level
: HarperCollins Publishers, Macy’s, Target Cue, Ketel One Vodka

Patron Level
: American Institute of Bisexuality, Barnes & Noble, Macmillan Publishers, Penguin Random House, Scholastic, Simon & Schuster

Mentor Level: Bywater Books

Friend Level
: Arsenal Pulp Press, Bold Strokes Books, Chronicle Books, The Feminist Press, Kensington Publishing, Nobrow Press 

Champion Underwriters: John Faubion & Warren Thomas, Chuck Forester,

KG MacGregor, Katherine Percy

Partner Underwriters: Darla Baker, Theodore Cornwell, Robert Ferrante & Tony Valenzuela, Tom Healy, David McConnell, John Rochester

 2016 Lambda Literary Awards Host Committee

Co-Chairs: William Johnson, Jerome Murphy, Amy Scholder


Kevin Brannon

Jamie Brickhouse

Michael Carroll

Paul Dierkes

Dick Donahue

Paul Florez

David Gale

Antonio Gonzalez

David Groff

Michele Karlsberg

Elizabeth Koke

Melanie LaRosa

Nick Nicholson

Angelo Nikolopoulos

Julia Pastore

Lori Perkins

Cathy Renna

Charles Rice-Gonzalez

Patrick Ryan

Eddie Sarfaty

Karen Schechner

John Sellers

S. Chris Shirley

Bob Smith

Rocco Staino

Marissa Johnson-Valenzuela

Jason Wells


Subscribe to our newsletter