interior banner image

Previous Winners

Lambda Literary Awards Finalists & Winners

For over 30 years, the Lambda Literary Awards have recognized the best LGBTQ books published in a given year across dozens of categories.

Below is a directory of all previous Lammy finalists and winners dating back to 1988. You can search by a title or author, and filter by the drop-down fields.

Note that each year’s Lambda Literary Awards celebrates books published between January 1 and December 31 of the previous year. For example, books from the 2020 Lammys will show a publication year of 2019 in this table.

Publication Year
Book Title
Author Name
Award Status
Unnatural Quotations
Leigh W. Rutledge
Madelyn Arnold
Sunday’s Child
Joyce Bright
Mundane’s World
Judy Grahn
The Finer Grain
Denise Ohio
A Mistress Moderately Fair
Katherine Sturtevant
Dorothy Allison
Sarah Schulman
The Secret in the Bird
Camarin Grae
The Prosperine Papers
Jan Clausen
Rita Mae Brown
The Quilt
Cindy Ruskin, Matt Herron and Deborah Zemke
AIDS: The Women
Ines Rieder and Patricia Ruppelt (editors)
Ground Zero
Andrew Holleran
Mortal Embrace: Living with AIDS
Emmanuel Dreuilhe
Why Can’t Sharon Kowalski Come Home?
Karen Thompson And Julie Andrzejewski
Alan Hollinghurst
River Road
C.F. Borgman
Stan Levanthal
Blue Heaven
Joe Keenan
Sherlock Holmes and the Mysterious Friend of O. Wilde
Russell A. Brown
Edmund White
Alan Hollinghurst
Valley of the Shadow
Christopher Davis
Second Son
Robert Ferro
Stephen Spender
Michael Nava
Death Takes the Stage
Donald Ward
Michael Bishop
Joseph Hansen
Who’s Next
George Baxt
Paul Monette

Subscribe to our newsletter