interior banner image

Previous Winners

Lambda Literary Awards Finalists & Winners

For over 30 years, the Lambda Literary Awards have recognized the best LGBTQ books published in a given year across dozens of categories.

Below is a directory of all previous Lammy finalists and winners dating back to 1988. You can search by a title or author, and filter by the drop-down fields.

Note that each year’s Lambda Literary Awards celebrates books published between January 1 and December 31 of the previous year. For example, books from the 2020 Lammys will show a publication year of 2019 in this table.

You are filtering by Lesbian Biography/Autobiography

Publication Year
Book Title
Author Name
Award Status
Judith Barrington
Joan Schenkar
Amber Hollibaugh
June Jordan
Carole Maso
Diana Souhami
Baby Precious Always Shines
Kay Turner
Blanche Weisen Cook
Barrie Jean Borich
Karla Jay
The Queen of Whale Cay
Kate Summerscale
Sally Cline
The Indelible Alison Bechdel; Confessions, Comix, and Miscellaneous Dykes to Watch Out for
Alison Bechdel
A Fragile Union
Joan Nestle
Rodger Streitmatter
Barbara Wilson
Kim Chernin
Margaret Peters
Daphne Scholinski and Jane Meredith Adams
Virginia Woolf
Hermione Lee
Doris Grumbach
Candace Gingrich
Eva Le Gallienne
Helen Sheehy
Coming Home to America
Torie Osborn
Honor Moore
Eight Bullets
Claudia Brenner with Hannah Ashley
And Say Hi to Joyce
Deb Price and Joyce Murdoch
Susan E. Cayliff
Erica Fischer
Dorothy Allison
Gertrude Stein: In Words and Pictures
Renate Stendhal (editor)
Col. Margarethe Cammermeyer and Chris Fisher
One Art: Letters
Elizabeth Bishop
The Power and the Passion of M. Carey Thomas
Helen Lefkowitz Horowitz
Mab Segrest
Marguerite Yourcenar
Josyanne Savigneau
Jewelle Gomez
Rose Gladney (editor)
David Sweetman
Family Values
Phyllis Burke

Subscribe to our newsletter