interior banner image

New in March: Felice Picano, Andrew Rannells, Cheryl A. Head, and Mathangi Subramanian

New in March: Felice Picano, Andrew Rannells, Cheryl A. Head, and Mathangi Subramanian

Author: Edit Team

March 2, 2019

We’re back with more new LGBTQ books for your reading list!

Felice Picano has a new novel out! His first in over fifteen years, Justify My Sins: A Hollywood Novel in Three Acts (Beautiful Dreamer Press) is described by the publisher as a “hilarious roman à clef with a heart.”

More from the publisher:

Victor Regina should be perfectly happy in New York City. His novels are best sellers, he has a kick-ass agent, and the upcoming Black Party at the exclusive Club Flamingo promises to be a cornucopia of gay desire. But New York is hard. The city is gripped by a winter that won’t quit, and although he has plenty of dishy friends, there is no lover in the picture. When his agent calls with an offer from Hollywood to adapt his latest novel, Justify My Sins, for a famous director, he jumps at the chance.

Too Much is Not EnoughFans of Broadway and HBO’s Girls might want to check out Andrew Rannells’ new memoir, Too Much Is Not Enough: A Memoir of Fumbling Toward Adulthood (Crown Archetype):

When Andrew Rannells left Nebraska for New York City in 1997, he, like many young hopefuls, saw the city as a chance to break free. To start over. To transform the fiercely ambitious but sexually confused teenager he saw in the mirror into the Broadway leading man of his dreams.

This month also brings the third installment in Cheryl A. Head’s Charlie Mack Motown Mystery series, Catch Me When I’m Falling (Bywater Books). This time:

Charlie Mack faces the most difficult case of her career when she goes undercover as a street person a to find a serial killer the police want to ignore. And someone is murdering the homeless in Detroit’s Cass Corridor—by immolation.

A People's History of HeavenWe’re also looking forward to Mathangi Subramanian’s debut novel, A People’s History of Heaven (Algonquin Books):

A politically driven graffiti artist. A transgender Christian convert. A blind girl who loves to dance. A queer daughter of a hijabi union leader. These are some of the young women who live in a Bangalore slum known as Heaven, young women whom readers will come to love in the moving, atmospheric, and deeply inspiring debut, A People’s History of Heaven.

Bryan Washington’s collection of interconnected short stories, Lot (Riverhead Books), is also out this month:

In the city of Houston–a sprawling, diverse microcosm of America – the son of a black mother and a Latino father is coming of age. He’s working at his family’s restaurant, weathering his brother’s blows, resenting his older sister’s absence. And discovering he likes boys.

For a preview of Washington’s short fiction, check out his story, “Waugh,” published in The New Yorker in October.

If you’re in need of some new poetry, March brings new collections from Rigoberto González, Richard Blanco, Ali Liebegott, and Jessica Jacobs, among others.

And in nonfiction, look for the release of Hugh Ryan’s When Brooklyn Was Queer (St. Martin’s Press), “the never-before-told story of Brooklyn’s vibrant and forgotten queer history, from the mid-1850s up to the present day,” and Samantha Allen’s Real Queer America: LGBT Stories from Red States (Little, Brown and Company), “a transgender reporter’s narrative tour through the surprisingly vibrant queer communities sprouting up in red states.”

As always, if we missed an author or book, or if you have a book coming out next month, please email us.

 

Lot

Fiction

 

Real Queer America

Nonfiction

 

Video Games Have Always Been Queer

LGBT Studies

 

Out of Salem

Young Adult and Children’s Literature

 

Savor the Moment

Romance

 

Alice Payne Rides

Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

 

Catch Me When I'm Falling

Mystery/Thriller

 

Sissy

Bio/Memoir

 

The Uninhabitable

Poetry

 

The Shape of the Earth

Erotica

Subscribe to our newsletter