interior banner image

8th Annual Lambda Literary Awards

8th Annual Lambda Literary Awards

Author: Antonio Gonzalez Cerna

July 14, 1996


  • WINNER: Tasting Life Twice edited by E.J. Levy (Avon)
  • Afrekete edited by Catherine McKinley & L. Joyce Delaney (Anchor)
  • New Fuck You edited by Eileen Myles and Liz Kotz (Semiotext(e))
  • Forbidden Passages by Pat Califia and Janine Fuller (Cleis)
  • His by Robert Drake (Faber and Faber)


  • WINNER: Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage edited by Claude J. Summers (Henry Holt)
  • Dyke Life edited by Karla Jay (BasicBooks)
  • Tomboys edited by Lynn Yamaguchi and Karen Barber (Alyson)
  • A Loving Testimony edited by Leslea Newman (Crossing)
  • Out in All Directions edited by Lynn Witt, Sherry Thomas, and Eric Marcus (Warner)

Children’s/Young Adult

  • WINNER: From the Notebooks of Melanin Sun by Jacqueline Woodson (Blue Sky Press)
  • Baby Bebop by Francesca Lia Block (HarperCollins)
  • My Two Uncles by Judith Vinga (Albert Whitman & Co.)
  • Passages of Pride by Kurt Chandler (Times Books)
  • Toby’s Lie by Daniel Vilmure (Simon & Schuster)


  • WINNER (Tie): Slavs (Thinking About the Longstanding Problems of Virtue and Happiness) by Tony Kushner (TCG)
  • WINNER (Tie): Go Fish by Guinevere Turner and Rose Troche (Penguin)
  • Actor’s Book of Gay and Lesbian Plays edited by Eric Lane and Nina Shengold (Penguin)
  • Love! Valor! Compassion! by Terrence McNally (Plume)
  • T-Cells and Sympathy by Michael Kerns (Heinneman)

Editors’ Choice

  • Forbidden Passages: Writings Banned in Canada introduced by Pat Califia and Janine Fuller (Cleis)

Gay Men’s Biography/Autobiography

  • WINNER: Tom: The Unknown Tennessee Williams by Lyle Leverich (Crown)
  • Last Night on Earth by Bill T. Jones with Peggy Gillespie (Pantheon)
  • Palimpsest by Gore Vidal (Random House)
  • Our Paris by Edmund White (Knopf)
  • Prayers for Bobby by Leroy Aarons (HarperCollins)

Gay Men’s Fiction

  • WINNER: Flesh and Blood by Michael Cunningham (FSG)
  • Dream Boy by Jim Grimsley (Algonquin)
  • Father of Frankenstein by Christopher Bram (Dutton)
  • Mysterious Skin by Scott Heim (HarperCollins)
  • Like People in History by Felice Picano (Viking)

Gay Men’s Mystery

  • WINNER: Closet by R.D. Zimmerman (Dell)
  • Venus Throw by Steven Saylor (St. Martin’s)
  • Shock to the System by Richard Stevenson (St. Martin’s)
  • Another Dead Teenager by Mark Richard Zubro (St. Martin’s)
  • Queer Kind of Umbrella by George Baxt (Simon & Schuster)

Gay Men’s Poetry

  • WINNER: Atlantis by Mark Doty (HarperPerrenial)
  • Cortege by Carl Philips (Graywolf)
  • Badboy Book of Erotic Verse by David Laurents (Badboy)
  • Scattering of Salts by James Merrill (Knopf)
  • Burnt Offerings by Timothy Liu (Copper Canyon)

Gay Men’s Studies

  • WINNER: De Los Otros by Joseph Carrier (Columbia University)
  • Invention of Heterosexuality by Jonathan Ned Katz (Dutton)
  • I, Pierre Seel, Deported Homosexual by Pierre Seel (BasicBooks)
  • Virtually Normal by Andrew Sullivan (Random House)
  • Saint=Foucault by Daniel Halperin (Oxford University)


  • WINNER: The Butches of Madison County by Ellen Orleans (Laugh Lines)
  • Revenge of HotHead Paisan by Diane Dimassa (Cleis)
  • Unnatural Dykes to Watch Out For by Alison Bechdel (Firebrand)
  • Growing Up Gay by Funny Gay Males (Hyperion)
  • Ghost in the Closet by Mabel Maney (Cleis)

Lesbian Biography/Autobiography

  • WINNER: Aimee & Jaguar by Erica Fischer (HarperCollins)
  • Two or Three Things I Know for Sure by Dorothy Allison (Dutton)
  • Eight Bullets by Claudia Brenner with Hannah Ashley (Firebrand)
  • And Say Hi to Joyce by Deb Price and Joyce Murdoch (Doubleday)
  • Babe by Susan E. Cayliff (University of Illinois)

Lesbian Fiction

  • WINNER: Autobiography of a Family Photo by Jacqueline Woodson (Dutton)
  • Passion of Alice by Stephanie Grant (Houghton Mifflin)
  • Rat Bohemia by Sarah Schulman (Dutton)
  • Amnesty by Louise Blum (Alyson)
  • Sweat by Lucy Jane Bledsoe (Seal)

Lesbian Mystery

  • WINNER: Intersection of Law and Desire by J.M. Redmann (Norton)
  • Hangdog Hustle by Elizabeth Pincus (Spinsters)
  • Faint Praise by Ellen Hart (Seal)
  • Someone to Watch by Jaye Maiman (Naiad)
  • Night Songs by Penny Mickleberry (Naiad)

Lesbian Poetry

  • WINNER: Dark Fields of the Republic by Adrienne Rich (Norton)
  • Maxfield Parrish by Eileen Myles (Black Sparrow)
  • Oral Tradition by Jewelle Gomez (Firebrand)
  • Fire Power by Chrystos (Press Gang)
  • Key to Everything edited by Gerry Gomez Pearlberg (St. Martin’s)

Lesbian Studies

  • WINNER: Dyke Life edited by Karla Jay (BasicBooks)
  • Virtual Equality by Urvashi Vaid (Anchor)
  • S/he by Minne Bruce Pratt (Firebrand)
  • Tomboys edited by Lynn Yamaguchi and Karen Barber (Alyson)
  • Parker and Hulme by Julie Glamuzina & Alison J. Laurie (Firebrand)

Photography/Visual Arts

  • WINNER: Paris was a Woman by Andrea Weiss (HarperCollins)
  • Stuck Rubber Baby by Howard Cruse (Paradox)
  • Butch/Femme edited by M.G. Soares (Crown)
  • Fully Exposed by Emmanuel Cooper (Routledge)
  • Making Love Visible by Geoff Manasse and Jean Swallow (Crossing)

Pioneer Award

  • L. Page “Deacon” Maccubbin, President and CEO of Lambda Rising, Inc.

Publisher’s Service Award

  • Nancy Bereano, Firebrand Press
  • Restricted Entry by Janine Fuller and Stuart Blackley (Press Gang)

Science Fiction/Fantasy

  • WINNER: Shadow Man by Melissa Scott (TOR)
  • Slow River by Nicola Griffith (DelRay)
  • Dryland’s End by Felice Picano (Richard Kasak)
  • Dark Angels by Pam Keesey (Cleis)
  • Atlantis: Three Tales by Samuel Delaney (Wesleyan)

Small Press Book Award

  • WINNER: The New Fuck You edited by Eileen Myles and Liz Kotz (Semiotext(e))
  • S/He by Minne Bruce Pratt (Firebrand)
  • Three-Hand Jax and Other Spells by Staszek (Permeable)
  • The Medicine Burns by Adam Klein (Serpent’s Tale)
  • Milking Black Bull edited by Vega Press (Vega Press)


  • WINNER: Wrestling with the Angel edited by Brian Bouldrey (Riverhead)
  • Queer Spirits edited by Will Roscoe (Beacon)
  • Gay Fairy Tales by Peter Cashorali (HarperCollins)
  • Our Tribe by Nancy Wilson (HarperSanFrancisco)
  • Freedom, Glorious Freedom by John McNeill (Beacon)
Antonio Gonzalez Cerna photo

About: Antonio Gonzalez Cerna

Antonio Gonzalez Cerna is the editor of and the former web producer for and His publishing background includes marketing and publicity positions with The Penguin Press, Riverhead, Berkley, NAL, DAW and Grand Central Publishing (formerly Warner Books). Email | Facebook | Twitter

Subscribe to our newsletter